Maugher Beach Lighthouse

Lighthouse Details
44° 36' 08.2'' N    -63° 32' 00.9'' W
  • Home
  • Lighthouse Interractive Map
44° 36' 08.2'' N    -63° 32' 00.9'' W    Google Map

The present concrete lighthouse was built in 1941 but it took until 1945 to demolish the heavy granite walls of the old martello tower (and as late as 1948, substantial portions of the ruined walls remained.)

The fog alarm building was demolished in 1975 and the foghorn was moved to the lighthouse where it remained until 1993 when it was silenced after sounding with various horns for 104 years.

The Coast Guard hoped to automate the light as early as 1973 and that year when Hector Lowe was hired as keeper he was told he would only be needed for six months. However, he was still there ten years later as problems monitoring the automatic equipment required the assistance of a keeper until 1983.

After automation, the Nova Scotia Lands and Forest Department considered keeping the duplex house for an interpretative centre, but decay and vandals reduced it to an eyesore and fire hazard, so it was demolished and burned when the breakwater was rebuilt in 1987. Foundations of the keeper's house and fog alarm building remain between the lighthouse and the helicopter pad now used for maintenance and inspection visits.

Courtesy Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Maugher Beach Lighthouse, 2008
Tides after Hurricane Juan, and later storm surges, have removed much of the bank on the harbour side of the lighthouse.

In 2003, Hurricane Juan breached the sand barrier between the ocean and the tidal pond on McNabs Island, so the lighthouse in now difficult to access along the beach.

Contributor: Dan Conlin, Kathy Brown
Information Sources: Discover McNabs Island by the Friends of Mcnabs Island, Dept. of Marine Annual Reports, Dartmouth Coast Guard Records, Public Archives of Nova Scotia clippings and The Sea Road to Halifax by Hugh Pullen.